April 19, 2017 (Agua Dulce, Calif.): BILSTEIN Shocks is back as the official shock for the 50th anniversary of the NORRA Mexican 1000 rally. BILSTEIN’s quality and performance has played an integral role in the very foundation of off-road racing, and continuous advances in technology have made them the most successful shock absorbers in off-road racing history. Since their inception in the early 70's, BILSTEIN’s monotube shocks have equipped more winning off-road cars and trucks than any other shock.

BILSTEIN B8 8112 (ZoneControl® CR) Specs - CLICK TO DOWNLOAD

Following the race, BILSTEIN will be presenting the prestigious Madonna award (pictured below). The tradition of the BILSTEIN Madonna Award in the United States began in 1984 with the NASCAR Winston Cup Championships, and has evolved to recognize the accomplishments of individuals in many areas of motorsports, including Dale Earnhardt, Ivan Stewart and Mark Stahl. The Madonna award is given to “an individual who wins a championship in a major American racing series, displays sportsmanship and positive character traits on and off the track, and possesses an intense desire to win while overcoming adversities.” This honor will be bestowed upon a deserving driver at the Mexican 1000. In addition, BILSTEIN will be presenting two Gift Certificates that may be redeemed for a set of direct fit truck or SUV shocks [B6 4600, B8 5100, B8 5100 (Ride Height Adjustable), B8 5160 or B8 6112].

Mark Stahl was the recipient of the 2016 Madonna Award. Ed Maurin, driving the restored Woodstuff, Porsche powered, 1983 Chaparral single seater, car that “Lightning” Larry Ragland drove in the 1980’s, was awarded with a set of BILSTEIN shocks. Ed and Mark have been racing on BILSTEIN shocks since the 1970’s. They added to their impressive resumes at the NORRA Mexican 1000. Ed won the Challenger Era Buggies class sharing the driver’s seat with Rory Ward and Mark took the top spot in the Legends Era Truck category. Mark Stahl was running the very same BILSTEIN shocks that were originally installed on his Ford F100 race truck back in 1978. No stranger to the Madonna award, Stahl twice earned Madonna’s for winning the Baja 1000 overall in 1978 and then again in 1980.

NORRA is pleased to continue their long standing relationship with BILSTEIN, Mark Stahl, Ed Maurin, and all of the racers and fans who join us every year for the "Happiest Race On Earth!".



To register for the 2017 NORRA Mexican 1000, Show up in Ensenada Friday, April 21: 11am-8pm or Saturday, April 22: 9am-5pm, at the Riviera Convention Center (Red Ballroom).

Don't miss out on the greatest adventure you will ever experience!

Have a copy of your Driver's License, Passport and Health Insurance Card ready to file with NORRA. Have your race radio frequency handy as well as your emergency contact phone numbers. Determine what category your vehicle should be competing in (refer to 2017 rules at ).


Beginning in 2010, the National Off Road Racing Association (NORRA) began promoting a rebirth of the NORRA Mexican 1000 rally. The unique off-road rally was co-created by promoter Mike Pearlman to consist of special stages (unlimited speed timed stages in the dirt) linked together by controlled speed liaison / transit sections (highway). The one-of-a-kind, once-a-year, four-day rally includes vintage off-road vehicles and motorcycles, as well as modern desert Rally Raid cars, pre-runner trucks, buggies and motorcycles.

Pearlman's late father Ed and others established the first running of the NORRA Mexican 1000 off-road rally in November of 1967, which eventually became internationally recognized and evolved into the Baja 1000 in the mid-1970's.

The 2017 NORRA Mexican 1000 is supported by Yokohama, Method Race Wheels, Walker Evans Racing, South Point Hotel Casino, Bilstein Shock Absorbers, Multitool USA, Mastercraft/Impact Safety, P.C.I. Race Radios, Baja United Group and many more.